Our History and Vision

About the Hall

The Ultimate Hall of Fame honors the sport’s past and celebrates its greatest players and contributors. While the Hall’s primary purpose has been to identify individuals who have made substantial contributions to our sport, the organization’s goals go beyond a celebration of past excellence. We hope to partner with organizing bodies worldwide to collect, preserve, and reveal the sport as it continues to evolve, linking its colorful and festive past with a remarkable present and a promising future.

The sport of ultimate sprouted on an asphalt parking lot at Columbia High School in Maplewood, New Jersey in 1968. Players graduated and exported the sport to colleges and universities across the eastern seaboard. Within a few years, teams began to appear across the country. By the early-1970s, the sport had jumped the Atlantic with club teams beginning to compete throughout Northern Europe. Today, more than 5 million people play in the US and millions more play in more than 90 countries on six continents.

The Ultimate Hall of Fame was brought to life in 2004 with the support of the board of the Ultimate Players Association (UPA), now known as USAU. From the beginning, the UPA, then USAU, was a hands-off partner that provided logistical support while letting the Hall remain wholly independent. This autonomy permits the Hall to develop relationships with organizations around the world that promote the sport’s development—from grassroots programs introducing the values of the self-officiating game to a new generation of diverse players to the professional organizations that strive to popularize the sport.

For its first 16 years, the Hall was run with no budget by a rotating group of volunteers. This changed in some respects in late 2019 when the Hall formed a corporation exempt from federal income tax under section 501(c)(3) of Title 26 of the United States Code. Beginning in 2020, the Hall has been overseen by a board of 13 directors elected by the Hall membership. The board is responsible for the process of inducting new players, contributors, and special merit candidates. But it has also embarked on several more expansive goals, including to become:

  • the foremost repository of memorabilia that captures the history of our sport—for all players in all divisions;
  • a partner for ultimate programs around the world working to enrich and expand the global community of ultimate;
  • a champion of the values of the ultimate community, including social justice, equality, diversity, and inclusion;
  • a partner to organizations across the country that strive to introduce our sport to young players from all cultural and socio-economic backgrounds while providing these future Hall of Famers with the support they need to engage, develop, and thrive;
  • a virtual space though this newly created website; and
  • one day soon, a physical space—a living museum –where our rich history will be displayed, debated, and celebrated.

Including the Inaugural Class from 2004, the Hall has inducted 95 members — 51 players from the Open Division, 32 from the Women’s Division, and 12 members recognized for the contributions off the field. Also, through a Special Merit category, the Hall has recognized several categories of players and contributors instrumental in the creation of the sport and its expansion during the earliest days—The Founders and The Johnny Appleseeds. Finally, the Hall has recognized two iconic disc models—Wham-O’s “80 mold” and Discraft’s “Ultra Star.”

As the Hall’s membership increases each year, so too does its ambitions to be a positive influence while preserving and promoting the sport.

Please note that although the Ultimate Hall of Fame pages on the former USAU website have been archived, most of the content continues to be available to the public and is being recreated on this website with more content to be created.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of between 7 and 13 volunteers committed to furthering the work of the Hall. Each December, approximately a third of the board is up for re-election or replacement. Every member of the Hall is eligible to run for the Board and is eligible to vote in the yearly elections. Currently, the board consists of 13 members elected by the Hall membership in the first Board election held in December 2019.

Executive Committee:

  • Pat King (HoF ’09) is the Board President and co-lead of the Justice Equity Diversity and Inclusion (JEDI) committee.
  • Lori VanHolmes (HoF ’15) is Board Vice President and leads the Principles Committee.
  • Brian Murphy (HoF ’07) is the Secretary and leads the Bylaws Committee.
  • Robert “Nob” Rauch  (HoF ’06) is the Treasurer and leads the Contributors for the Vetting Committee.
  • Suzanne Fields (HoF ’04) is the Board Administrator and Chair of the Vetting Committee.

Friends of the Hall